It is located in the center of the inter-Andean alley, from the Cumandá subtropics at 120 meters above sea level, to the summit of Chimborazo, considered as the closest point to the sun, measured from the center of the planet at 6263 meters above sea level.

It is one of the richest territories in history, from the Puninoid skull with more than 4950 years, it also preserves a great section of the Qhapaq Ñan and the Inca Trail, it is the cradle of the Puruhá people, it is counted until today with the legacy of the Shyris with a descendant ruler from Atahualpa himself through the Duchicela family.

In the period of the Spanish conquest it was the place of the first foundations of Quito and Guayaquil, later in Riobamba, its capital, the Republic of Ecuador was born on September 11, 1830, its territory is recognized as the Cradle of Ecuadorian Nationality.

It concentrates two protected areas: the Chimborazo Fauna Production Reserve and the Sangay National Park, custodians of Andean colossi such as volcanoes: Chimborazo, Altar, Tungurahua, and several mountain formations, which have challenged expedition members such as: Humboldt, Bolívar, Bonpland, Meyer, Whymper, Messner, Cruz, among others; becoming the delight of those who enjoy adventure and nature.

Its geography encompasses an infinite range of landscapes, from the Andes to the foothills of the subtropics towards the coast and the Amazon; Lake complexes hidden in the moor such as: Ozogoche, Atillo, el Altar, join the Colta lagoon and the endless number of waterfalls and streams such as: the Ojo del Fantasma and San Jorge, among others.

The province of Chimborazo is made up of 10 cantons: Alausí, Chambo, Chunchi, Colta, Cumandá, Guamote, Guano, Pallatanga, Penipe, Riobamba and 61 parishes: 45 rural and 16 urban.

Population and Area

According to the population projections to 2020 based on the 2010 Population and Housing Census in Ecuador carried out by the National Institute of Statistics and Censuses INEC, it has a total population of 524,004 inhabitants, located in a land area of ​​6,500.66 km2.